Apple’s new iMac Core 2 Extreme, Mac mini benchmarked

1KrazyKoreanHot on the heels of last week’s benchmarking of the 2.4 GHz iMac, the folks over at Primate Labs have updated their iMac performance comparison charts to include scores from Apple’s top-of-the line 2.8GHz iMac Core 2 Extreme, as well as the new Mac mini.[…] Thanks to 1KrazyKorean for providing this nice story on Digg (more than 715Diggs).

What other users say about this:

GreatDrok: Heh, I’m still running a 1.42Ghz G4 Mac mini which I bought when they first appeared. I upgraded it to 1GB and stuck an external firewire 3.5″ drive on it and it runs pretty sweet. I wouldn’t want to do serious number crunching on it but as a little workstation it isn’t bad and I don’t intend to upgrade it for another year at least. The performance difference between the internal 2.5″ drive and the external firewire drive is something like x4 so I run the entire operating system on there and it feels almost as quick as my MacBook Pro. Of course, it also has the advantage of not having to run Office under emulation so for that it beats the crap out of the MBP.

mleh: Hey that’s great and all, but will the 2GHz Core 2 Duo mini handle 1080p x264 content?

DaleoftheUK: So a Mac mini and an iMac weren’t carved into a bench? lame.

rowlodge: so there the same or slightly slower mac minis at least in both of today’s models, it wasn’t necessary to include G4’s or pre dual cores.

Jeeverz: picking one up, when i get back to school wewt !

shieldss: Hey Apple: how about an option for a dedicated graphics card to support dual monitors in the mini? I don’t want to use a 3rd party device that doesn’t work 1/2 the time.

waif69: It looks like I will be buying a 2GHz mini to replace my 1GHz G4 instead of waiting a few more years until the family budget gets better.

cybe: Great little machines, but I believe my Mac Mini (Core Due 1,66Ghz) is crashing due to overheating, it tends to get very hot on the bottom. Have it standing on a big chunk of metal now which seems to help, not sure yet.

Waredgo: Let’s face it – most of us expected a chart comparing these Macs to Wintel PC’s right?
I was expecting that too and still wish it was one.
I have nothing but respect for the Mac platform – if I see an apples to apples comparison between the two platforms, I’ll go with the one that makes more sense for me.

TheNevadaKid: Here’s a real world benchmark for everyone…A few days ago I set up the new 24″ iMac for a client. The display is far and away the best I’ve ever seen. Much more vibrant than my own cinema displays. It was fast, responsive and rendered a 5 minute clip on HDV video with a title, some color correction and 4 simple cross dissolves in less than a minute. It’s an obvious step up from its predecessors and does exactly what it was built to do.

The iMac is intended for home and office tasks not high end video production. I’m not sure why people complain the GPU is slow when it doesn’t neet a 70 mHz refresh rate with 160 fps. The graphics card is lower power and more efficient at what it’s intended to do – render a beautiful image for home users.

locodude: I’m so hot for a MacMini. I have absolutely no real use for one, I just want it because it looks zexy.
Can somebody please help me find a good excuse to buy one? 😉

fanclerks: So basically this is a review of someone reading some charts off another site? Why couldn’t he just point to that site instead of trying to pretend and making content for their own? Woop de fucking do!

Shivetya: http://www.barefeats.com

the new systems (24″ hd2600 ATI) are slow slow slow compared to last models 7600gt

unitedkronos: Has anyone benchmarked games on the new Mac Minis yet? I want to know how well they run Half-Life 2 and CS:S so I can replace my main system with one.

MMaster23: wow .. who would have tought a faster clocked core is faster then a slower core 😮

this could cure aids and cancer!
*sigh*

Leave a Reply

