First Look: Pixelmator private beta arrives

YEMandyTUAW got their hands on a Pixelmator private beta. Check out the post for screenshots and first initial thoughts.[…] Thanks to YEMandy for providing this nice story on Digg (more than 551Diggs).

What other users say about this:

KendalEngelking: But all art is sensual and poetry particularly so. It is directly, that is, of the senses, and since the senses do not exist without an object for their employment all art is necessarily objective. It doesn’t declaim or explain, it presents.

EliseoCovell: All honor’s wounds are self-inflicted.

digggggg: “you can do everything at zombocom!” 😀

CPops: Not everybody needs the virtually unlimited graphics possibilities of Photoshop. If this app works as good as it looks, I’ll certainly be buying it.

For just some simple image manipulation or drawing, simple apps like this usually work better. Art Rage and Lineform are two more examples of simple graphics apps that work great.

dcharti: Just to clarify things: I’m David Chartier and I wrote the post for TUAW. The Pixelmator crew gave me express permission to write about Pixelmator, and I stated such in the second paragraph of the post before any kind of page break.

I hope this clears up any confusion.

PasteEater: I haven’t seen it mentioned anywhere, but can Pixelmator do CMYK or is it strictly RGB?

nape: can someone just please skin photoshop cs3 to look like this?

shakin: What’s with the photo of the guy who did the review? It looks like he prepped himself up for the photo.

“Hmm… how can I look like a cool Mac guy for this photo? I know! I’ll wear sunglasses on my head and put the crappy white iPod earphones on, then gaze up and off to the size just like GWB does right before he says something stupid.”

livevil: Why is this topic gaining popularity, it’s a Mac app.!

THEMACGOD: So much for not taking pictures or posting any info on it anywhere, like the beta info politely asks…

dezent: oops… http://thepiratebay.org/tor/3776294/Pixelmator

netwookiee: I thought that the Pixelmator team did not want people posting about this just yet. According to the blog post yesterday they said…

“However, one thing that I really would like to ask all of the people who are participating in beta is to please, please, please do not post any info or share the application yet. It’s not finished and any bad things that go public would hurt us. First you’d better give us a chance to fix them. We plan to have three seeds of the beta before the final release.”
Found here: http://pixelmator.com/weblog/

Oh well. So much for NDA’s.

digger_twit: http://pownce.com/download/31216/pixelmatorbeta.dmg

Nothing to see here…

kris33: I’ve tried it and it’s not über. It works fine though. Still misses a lot of advertised features.

jcannonb: Its an image editor. I think it would be preferred to look at this as a glorified (and much needed) MAC OS X answer to Microsoft Paint, than Photoshop. I would even compare it to Paint Shop Pro (my favorite). I am not an image professional, and don’t need all of what Photoshop has to offer, so screw the $650 price tag IMHO. For me, and others like me, who do photo touchups, or minor pixel work, for a website, or a family photo, this is all TOO PERFECT! This is the one type of application I have missed since I ditched windows, and lost Paint Shop Pro. It doesn’t have to be bloated and over complicated, I just need a few specific tasks, as do a lot of people.

Leave a Reply

