Review: Mac Pro 2 x 2.66Ghz

thinkingseriousThis looks like some kind of shrine. That said… I want one![…] Thanks to thinkingserious for providing this nice story on Digg (more than 772Diggs).

What other users say about this:

flyinsquirrel: configured a Mac Pro:

Memory upgrades
Apple: 1 2GB (4 x 512MB) Add $299
Newegg 1: Mac memory http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148046 (2x1gb) $176.49
Newegg 2: PC memory http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820161677 $67.99
Second hard drive
Apple: 500GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s [Add $329]
Newegg: Same specs $99

Apple: Apple Cinema Display (20″ flat panel) [Add $599]
Newegg 1: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009101 26″ $599
Newegg 2: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009108 20″ $199 (on sale for $179 when i checked)
2 usb and 2 firewire ports are nice but are they worth an extra 400 bucks?

I’d love to support apple but come on people this is a fucking ripoff

shawnblanc: That setup is always clean.

kingtriumph: I am writing this from my 2 x 2.66 GHz Mac Pro. I love it. It’s my second Mac (first was a final generation Powerbook). I love it!! Never, ever, ever going back to Windows. Not even for gaming.

l0nghorn1: This is not a review, where are the benchmarks, comparisons and overclocking!! This article give me no useful information at all.

hungryhermit: Is this setup in a closet or what?

onerythym: looks like a “shrine” ??

more like a cheese grater.

toetagger: Anybody who thinks he can build or buy a comparable computer for the same or even close price is out of his mind.
AND it wouldn’t have OS X on it.

techmaster7b: Buried as inaccurate.

SenorCardgage74: Im running a Mac Pro with the following specs:

2 x 2.66Ghz
16 Gigs of RAM (thats right, I said 16 Gigs)
250 Gig HD
And two 22″ EIZO monitors.

Sometimes I dont hate my job. 🙂

jabberwolf: Wow, now you spent a heap more $$ to do the same things a PC can, and limit your software options.
‘Scuse me, while I spend the money on the same system with more ram and 2 cards running in SLI mode to run things faster.
I guess, I’m missing that extra inch, but oh well.
I guess money was spent more wisely that goes to the SAS mirrored drives rather then SATA.

sirmo: I will always buy a Mac laptop. Apple laptops have the best software-hardware integration. but I just can’t make myself make that same switch when it comes to desktop. There are too many reasons why PC hardware gives Apple a run for its money. When it comes to the OS, OS X is great but for work Linux is all I need and for gaming XP is still the best option.

mserna23: I got this machine less than 3 months ago. It’s awesome. Here’s what I’m using it for.

1. Final Cut Studio editing HD
2. Heavy print work Photoshop files over 30 MBs.
3. Music and Sound editing with Pro Tools
4. Web design work: Dreamweaver, Flash, Photoshop, Illustrator, Acrobat.
5. and of course, web browse and chat. (Shame on you guys using Mac Pros for just web browsing and chat!)

Thinking about setting up a RAID or installing a Raptor HD

anyways heavy heavy stuff on the first 4 … and i use handbrake to “backup” my DVD. eghh hmm *cough*

Rileyper: Heres my plan
1. get rich
2. get a mac pro and say neener neener neener

tomz17: Difference is that you can get the same processor motherboard, more ram, and a kickass video card for less than a thousand dollars if you stay in PC land… In other words, someone knowledgeable with PC’s (and especially overclocking) can run circles around this mac at literally a quarter of the budget!

nicc: in the article he states that the MacPro/PowerMac is the only Mac system capable of running dual 30″ Cinema displays…um, wrong.

while I am not positive with regards to the MacBook Pro, the Powerbook (non 12″ versions) have NO problems driving dual 30″ CD.

Leave a Reply

