Coming to grips with the iPhone’s design

maheshee11For years, smart-phone designers have built products around the premise that people should only have to use one hand to look up a contact,[…] Thanks to maheshee11 for providing this nice story on Digg (more than 89Diggs).

What other users say about this:

sweintraub: new ipod touch will have same design

trunkster: Umm I guess I just don’t have an issue here. I hold my iPhone with one hand and then use my thumb and can about control everything on the iPhone and do it comfortably.

Sogui: I’m with the old-school here, touch-screen is nice and all. But why should I spend $600 on a phone that is actually less convenient than traditional phones for checking phone numbers, messages, missed calls, etc… I recall a recent incident where I was standing behind a counter listening to someone jabber away while I popped off messages to a friend with 1 hand and no eyes. iPhone takes total concentration and 2-hands to do the same task… and for a “smart phone” they will have to rethink that concept for future designs.

Leave a Reply

