The Beat Goes On: Nano, Touch, Beatles, Wireless?

normalkidNow that Apple has invited select media to the a press event which will take place on September 5th, 2007, it seems clear that Apple’s iPods will finally see updates. While we typically steer clear of mock-ups of upcoming Apple devices, in the months leading into this event, there have been a num…[…] Thanks to normalkid for providing this nice story on Digg (more than 1029Diggs).

What other users say about this:

Vermifax: I just want Logic Pro 8.

edjenkins234: Am i the only one who likes to be able to use my ipod without looking at the screen?
Anyone remember the ipods awhile back with those annoying ass touch buttons?
Im all for an ipod update but I really dont want a big iphone thing, if you guys want that then buy an iphone and unlock it and let us MUSIC listeners keep the best music device ever created.

fragile00: touch+ osx+ wi-fi= ‘le sex

DFENS: Whatever it is, you’ll have to sign a 2 year contract to not use any other mp3 players. 🙂

pixelbeat: Anyone has a price range speculation?

johnpaul191: if this is just about the Beatles music on iTMS, i will be so let down. is it that big a deal that one band has been a bunch of luddites all these years, and then eventually came around to accept modern technology?
anyone that is that big of a Beatles fan probably owns the music, nobody else cares at this point.

Rethcir: I really don’t see the point of touchscreen or MacOS or cover flow in a regular consumer iphone. I’d rather use that power consumption for longer battery life on the current embedded system. I think adding MacOS to a consumer grade piece of electronics is like renting a jackhammer to put a nail in the wall to hang a picture.

And I still think physical buttons are needed. Particularly the “next song” button which I go to all the time when i’m on the train.

brandontober: I think It’s pretty obvious that the nano will stay the same size. People use it for running and stuff like the Nike+. The fat squatty iPod will replace the 30 and 80 gig models and the ‘touch iPods’ will be released as an entirely new line.

xoineg: Beatles? is that a that old car design from Volkswagen?

Kyderdog: Apple is now Carrying the full line of Sonny & Cher Music:

ARTIST: Sonny and Cher
TITLE: The Beat Goes On

{Refrain}
The beat goes on, the beat goes on
Drums keep pounding a rhythm to the brain
La de da de dee, la de da de da

Charleston was once the rage, uh huh
History has turned the page, uh huh
The miniskirt’s the current thing, uh huh
Teeny bopper is our newborn king, uh huh

{Refrain}

The grocery store’s the supermart, uh huh.
Little girls still break their hearts, uh huh.
And men still keep on marching off to war
Electrically they keep a baseball score

{Refrain}

Grandmas sit in chairs and reminisce
Boys keep chasing girls to get a kiss
The cars keep going faster all the time
Bums still cry, “Hey buddy, have you got a dime”

{Refrain}

And the beat goes on, yes the beat goes on…

shadowmoses: iPod without the phone+camera with 8,16 and 32gb options, also the option to have Nike+ Built in.

sg7791: Of course the Beatles are coming to iTunes. I don’t remember if it was WWDC or Macworld, but Jobs actually used Sgt. Pepper as demo music for the iPhone. Also, John, Paul and Ringo’s albums were released recently on iTunes. Something’s definitely up.

Also, I doubt a “touch iPod” would have wifi. Apple tries to keep products in the same price range as their predecessors.

humfern: Can you imagine if the new iPod can just sync wirelessly to my iTunes!!!! I Will buy one asap!

I use my 5.5G 80GB iPod on my car almost all the time. When I add new music or podcast to my iTunes library I have to go out to my car (that sits 6 meters from my office at home), grab the iPod, walk again to the office, connect it to the base at my desk, wait to sync and when I leave my office remember to bring the iPod with me to connect it again in my car (I always forget to bring it btw). With WiFi built in and the ability to sync that way it will be a great benefit for us iPod in car users.

jhuebel: The few features mentioned in the title likely rank in probability thusly:

1. Touch
2. Nano
3. Wireless (bluetooth)
4. Beatles
99. Wireless (802.11x)

I rank the Nano lower than touchscreen capability, simply because gizmodo reported on it and that (in my mind) causes the idea to lose some credibility. The nano was refreshed fairly recently, so I think it’s more like that the video iPod is what will get the new features. I also think Bluetooth and Beatles music rank pretty closely together. The iPhone doesn’t even have stereo bluetooth, so I find it unlikely that they would release an iPod based on a similar implementation.

Honestly, I don’t see Beatles music being a big selling point. There have been plenty of other places to get their music besides iTunes, legal or otherwise.

djspike: I’d rather have a WiFi enabled iPod than a touch-screen… I wanna download stuff over the air to my iPod and then sync it to my iTunes over WiFi. Thankfully these will be out BEFORE my birthday. w00t.

Leave a Reply

