iTunes 7.4.1 ringtones workaround discovered

shunpikeEnjoy it until 7.4.2 come out (another 10 hours or so?)[…] Thanks to shunpike for providing this nice story on Digg.

What other users say about this:

clyde2801: You guys paid 600 bucks for a freakin phone, and now yer bitchin about 99c ringtones???

zongamin: Seriously – having a ‘ringtone’ other than a simple ‘ring ring’ or even ‘silent’ is surely of interest only to kids. Grow up.

zbeast: you don’t have to use Itune to load ring tones on your phone.
You can be sure that there will be 1/2 dozen applications out there that will let you take your non drm’ed music and
make it into ring tones.
Just wait dont worry.

rodzilla: workaround doesn’t work for me, anyone have better instructions

geost: Does anyone know of a program I can use to crop aac songs? Does audacity read aacs?

DaveClarkOne: How many ringtones does one need such that 99 cents paid to Apple is a big deal?? This is hardly worth front page Digg news. Buried as lame.

lookoutforchris: I’m still on 7.4.0. All you have to do is get an AAC file (m4a extension), change the extension to m4r, and then copy the file to /Your Music Folder/Ringtones and if you have “sync all ringtone” checked it will sync any file in there. I’ve also found no limit for ringtone size, the largest ringtone I’ve synced is 9.5MB. Now that I have all the free ringtones that I want I’ll upgrade to 7.4.1 and see what’s up.

BruB: How many freekin’ ringtone do you need anyway.

ThreeDee912: I think this is more of AT&T’s fault. AT&T makes a lot of money by charging people for a shit quality 30 second music clip. I think Apple left these ringtone workarounds in iTunes on purpose.

“It’s not a bug, it’s a feature”…

MedHead: This reminds me a lot of SONY’s actions with the PSP, making updates that were pretty much just made to break homebrew applications.

Vektuz: Can’t you just use mp3 ringtones on that device? There’s like a billion and one programs to do that. You can even tag the ringtones with ‘ringtone’ as the genre, and make your usual playlist not include those files (yay smart playlists).

DesertSessions: Well, none of the workarounds worked for me. So I’m just gonna sit here and enjoy this Sonar tone. I feel like Denzel Washington.

djdole: Maybe I’m missing something, but I followed all the each and every step in this engadget article and the only thing it did was place the m4r files in the “Ringtones” directory which allowed them to be displayed in the ringtones tab.
But even there, AND selected to be synced, iTunes still wouldn’t sync the re-renamed m4a files to my phone.
Just displaying them in iTunes doesn’t help much, for me at least.
:-/

fascfoo: YOU DONT HAVE TO UPDATE IF YOU DONT WANT TO.

Stop freaking out about 7.4.2 or 3 or 4 or 5….you don’t have to update if you don’t want to. get all the damn ringtones you could ever want and THEN upgrade.

IsmailOo: cant you just not update?

Leave a Reply

