Fun, Tours and a $3,000 Bill for Hardly Using an iPhone

interg12When Neil Dingman recently went on a European vacation, he took his iPhone with him with no intention of using it much. In fact, for the 14 days he was there, he used it only a handful of times and had expected to see just a small increase in his next bill for roaming charges.[…] Thanks to interg12 for providing this nice story on Digg.

What other users say about this:

tsaxer: I agree that blaming Apple is ridiculous, but one of the main things this article reminds people of is that they need to shut off the automatic email check while they are out of the US. And yes it royally sucks that ATT (not Apple) still charge data transfer rates for WiFi data (I mean, they’re not involved in that transfer in any way). If I take my computer to an internet cafe, Comcast doesn’t charge me for access. Some people take their phones in case of emergency, or, like me and the iPhone, with the intention of using the google maps feature. The 24.99/month plan only allows 20Mb of transfer, and I’ve used about 13 in one week (in the US). Here’s hoping that enough angry customers can change policy.

Davey78: Maybe its me…. but am I the only person getting tired of seeing these in the Apple section? I mean, yes its an Iphone… but this is AT&T related.

After seeing these stories for over a month… DARE I SAY IT… “DO NOT (REPEAT, DO NOT) TAKE YOUR IPHONE OUTSIDE OF THE UNITED STATES. ITS NOT APPLE’S FAULT, IT’S JUST THAT YOU CAN’T TRUST AT&T!!!”

Leave a Reply

