What is Interference Robustness?

TheTSArtInformation on what this Airport menu command does and when to use it.[…] Thanks to TheTSArt for providing this nice story on Digg.

What other users say about this:

charleyfeher: I have been wondering this for a long time. Thanks Digg.

Driver0612: I have a question. If you’re on a laptop…. does it suck up more battery power? (and does it utilize more resources…?)

zdiggler: My experience tells me that it slow down the surf and get drop off 😦

Keep it uncheck!

DarkDx: I hope somebody can help me here. I have a 120 square mts house. I want to mount a wireless network. Tell me, wich is THE BEST acces point/router out there? I mean the one with MORE RANGE, stronger signal, etc. Forget the 120mts, I want the best of the best.

ToscaDisco: Proof again that the subset of Digg users that get stories promoted to the front page is very small indeed

dezent: This was a great article ! have been in lots of discussions about what it could be 🙂

spannage: The article states that 802.11 was developed by IEEE. This is incorrect. CSIRO, the Austrialian technical agency solved the bedeviling problems of wireless data (interference being one of the gnarliest). They have the patent. IEEE adopted it.

colorme: The strange part is that even though this is a pretty questionable article with regard to the author’s expertise, it’s still the best effort I’ve seen that tries to explain the “Interference Robustness” feature. It’d be nice if Apple could be a little more forthcoming with information.

monsterofNone: jeez get to the point…
What does it do? How does it work?
The 802.11 protocol was designed to essentially adjust itself to protect itself from interference. More specifically it adjusts packet size. The idea is this: send smaller packets at higher speeds, and the access point will more securely receive the packets. So when faced with interference, this option will literally adjust the transmission of packets to ensure the access point receives more packets.
When should I use it?
It really depends on the situation. Some users will experience WLAN issues based on the specific products they have in their home in this case use Interference Robustness. Others will face WLAN issues because they either live or work in a highly populated area such as an apartment building or office building. This would be an ideal time to use Interference Robustness. Basically, whenever you face WLAN interference that is caused by outside variables, Interference Robustness will help.
If it cuts down on interference, shouldn’t I leave it on all the time?
No. This is very important to understand. Using Interference Robustness will essentially slow down your wireless connection. As discussed above, if you’re looking for speed, you send a high frequency of large packets. If you’re looking to battle interference you send smaller packets at a lower frequency. So your connection will be slow but strong.

all the rest is bs.

senatorpjt: Pics or it didn’t happen.
http://www.proxim.com/support/techbulletins/TB-035.pdf
Basically, it prevents fallback to lower speeds due to interference.

casiogtm: Interestingly enought though i found that my new airport extreme has the option of 802.11 n only (5ghz) and i really dont get any interference at all now. If i leave it at g/n compatible i get way slower speeds.

JasonQG: Not that it’s relevant, but 802.11a is 5 GHz and was released at the same time as 802.11b. I’m not sure if I would take on faith this guy’s “expertise.”

nosscaj: What timing! I just noticed this option on my brand new 24″ iMac last night (which I must resist the temptation to lick). I checked and unchecked the option with x’d fingers to see what would happen. Of course nothing apparent did. I figured I’d better leave well enough alone and left it unchecked. Now I’m glad I know why I made the right choice (on = stronger but slower wireless connection)

supermanred: Thank you, this is a lot of help. I know when to use it now. Turned it off just now and I have quicker internet in my backyard again… didnt even remember I had turned it on.

Coooooool. Damn this wireless N from Apple is fast as fuck.

FunkyChicken: He lost me at Wireless Local Access Networks… What the f? Access? When did it change from Area to Access?? No digg due to being totally and completely lame.

Leave a Reply

