iUnlock released: the first free, open source iPhone SIM unlock software

benman587“earlier this afternoon iUnlock, the first free, open source iPhone SIM unlock app, was released to the underground just 74 days after the iPhone’s release.”[…] Thanks to benman587 for providing this nice story on Digg.

What other users say about this:

nunomartins: Do you think the iphone has a killer design?? check this out http://www.digg.com/apple/Review_ColorWare_iPhone_paint_job

nunomartins: ou think the iphone has a killer design?? check this out http://www.digg.com/apple/Review_ColorWare_iPhone_paint_job

lanstor: Another question: I just noticed that the iTunes that I have is 7.4 or later. Could that be why I’m getting the error message after typing
AT+CLCK=”PN”,0,”0000000″?
If so, how do I get an older version of itunes? or on the tutorial it says I need an older version of iTunesMobileDevice.dll on ibrickr.
However there already is an iTunesMobileDevice.dll in my ibrickr. How would I get an older version?

nunomartins: Do you think the iphone has a killer design?? check this out http://www.digg.com/apple/Review_ColorWare_iPhone_paint_job

daimposter: i miss rotary

bloodguard: So if I buy an IPhone can I unlock it and use it as an IPod Touch (+bluetooth +camera -phone services until my contract with sprint runs out)?

unnes: Last night I was in possession of a brand new, unactivated iPhone. Since most of the online tutorials explain how to work from an already activated phone, I have written about how I went from unboxing to unlocked, if anyone’s interested:

http://boofer.org/blog/2007/09/12/unlocking-a-new-iphone/

picsectionpleez: Im in ur phone unlocking yur sim

lanstor: Hello, ok so I’m a total newb. But I’m completely stuck at one of the steps. Everything has gone smoothly except for the last 2 commands.

When I type in

AT+CLCK=”PN”,0,”00000000″

I invariably get error
it doesn’t matter how many times I turn off minicom and start it again. Everything else is exactly as the tutorial goes. Any help?

MrViklund: AT&T and Apple have made an agreement and I think that people should respect that. But it seems like it’s a sport to hack every Apple product.

quan: Now they’ll know how Microsoft feel.

harryterry: the ones who have tmobile, what data plan do you use?

aryanaku: Is this a strategy from Apple for increasing their sales? After cut $200 , now they launch the unlocking code. Also they delay the sales for Asian region. Hmm… marketing strategy?

MattCairns: Woot just got my phone working with this.

oliviacond: download:
http://www.mediafire.com/?71h321y9113

Leave a Reply

