Rash of iTunes customers can’t download their purchased music

jeffyjonesA growing number of iTunes customers who tried to buy music at some point in the evening of September 10 can’t download their music. Apple’s support e-mail has only returned messages asking customers to “check for purchases,” something anyone smart enough to contact them already did. They’re getting the error that the store is “unavailable.”[…] Thanks to jeffyjones for providing this nice story on Digg.

What other users say about this:

Kainzy: They have been slowly correcting accounts and fixing the problem over the past few hours it seems. 4hrs ago before I went to sleep I still couldn’t access the store but having just woken up and tried, I can access the ‘Check for Purchases’ screen and access my missing music.

Sadly my confidence in buying tunes has been shot to hell, and hasn’t been helped by Apple not apologizing nor mentioning what the problem was.

pmsg: Count me in. I have 78 files waiting to download. All purchased with iTunes Gift Cards. Happy Friggin’ Birthday to me….

swrdfghtr: I’ve asked for a refund – 24+ hours is a more-than-reasonable period of time dfor delivery, and from the iTunes Store Terms of Service:

b. Technical Problems. On occasion, technical problems may delay or prevent delivery of your Product. Your exclusive and sole remedy with respect to Product that is not delivered within a reasonable period will be either replacement of such Product, or refund of the purchase price paid for such Product, as determined by Apple.

serqrevp: The issue is still ongoing; for some over three days now. There are multiple threads on Apple’s discussion forums and some people are clearly upset and losing their sense of humor. Apple still has not officially acknowledge a problem (which is more frustrating then anything) and affected users are still getting boilerplate responses from iTunes store support (disable firewall, web accelerator, make sure you have the latest iTunes, etc., etc., etc.). The story has made ilounge.com and tuaw.com.

Korexz: Maybe they are going to announce a change to the pricing model for TV Shows and Movies?

mansfiem: You can add me to the pile too. I recently received a generic response from them concerning the issue:
I understand you are having difficulty with the iTunes Store downloading your songs you want. I know this can be disappointing, and I will be glad to help you with this issue.
Apple is currently working toward a resolution for the issue you have reported. You will receive an email after the matter has been investigated and further information is available.
Thank you for your patience. Apple wants your iTunes experience to be as enjoyable as possible.
Thank you for choosing the iTunes Store.

Kainzy: Ditto here in the UK. Apple seem to be giving the generic “check your firewall” response for the most part
I hope the rumours of them updating the service with movies is true because so many people are affected by this. I ordered just 2 tunes and then got the response that the store was down. Sadly, the payment went through and I can’t login to the store anymore.

RobotBuddha: It looks like searches work if they’d been performed before the 11th, but doing a totally novel search fails.

RobotBuddha: I haven’t been able to do a search in the desktop itunes store for at least ten hours now. It’d be far less annoying if they’d just acknowledge the problem instead of pretending like it’s just user error.

shanghainobody: ok i’ve waited 24hours still no fix? odd….

samcam: I’ve got problems too…41 songs waiting to download but can’t – though I’ve already been charged for them.

h0td0gbung: same here

toetagger: Too many in-store $100 credits.

virtorio: Same for me on the New Zealand store.

adrenaline1721: Add me to the list …

Leave a Reply

