Apple Updates iTunes to 7.4.2

rivostevoApple has posted iTunes 7.4.2 for Mac and Windows today.What’s New in this VersioniTunes 7.4.2 addresses an issue with creating ringtones using iTunes Plus song purchases and includes bug fixes to improve stability and performance.Apple recently introduced 7.4.1 on September 7th. The 7.4…[…] Thanks to rivostevo for providing this nice story on Digg.

What other users say about this:

memoBug: 7.4.2 seems to have trashed my Music Library Database file. I’m sitting here looking at an “importing iTunes Library.xml” screen after it announced that my library appeared corrupted and was renamed. I named it back. I’m seeing these problems happening more frequently as features are added for the iPhone. I wonder how long it will be before there are security and virus issues?

macpro2006: weird because yesterday around 10AM for me iTunes wanted me to update it and I am ***now*** running 7.4.2 since yesterday. Huh. Eh whatever at least its out and I can still get around making ring-tones for my iPhone

macpro2006: weird because yesterday around 10AM for me iTunes wanted me to update it and I am not running 7.4.2 since yesterday. Huh. Eh whatever at least its out and I can still get around making ring-tones for my iPhone

xscottyx: i can’t wait until these updates are actually relevant to me…you know, being in canada where we get basically fuck all.

Kevthedigger: yet another apple news item!

mellon23: My AppleTV doesn’t seem to want to sync since the update.

psilanthropist: “and includes bug fixes to improve stability and performance”

do people actually fall for that crap ?

aliguana: iTunes needs a new installer. Like this:

“iTunes Installer. Please check which items you would like to install:
iTunes
iTMS
iPod Support
AppleTV Support
iPhone Support

Plus a modern auto-updater that only updates the bits that have actually changed.

shiftless: I find it outrageous they want you to pay for ringtones anyway. The phone costs a ton. I’ve installed my own custom subtle ringtones on other phones. Also, these updates are huge. Can’t they streamline them or use smaller patches?

maninblac1: Number of stability and reliability updates in 7.4.2, 0
Number of patches to fix loopholes found or could be found by hackers, XXXXXXXX!

dmpapwor: I hope they get around to fixing the video issues on Vista soon.

Hermmunster: No new features, no reason to update. This is a feature dis-abler. Just don’t upgrade. Download an older version and keep it safe so you can go back if need be.

crackah: Fucks sake, i hate it that all these iphone bugs are affecting people who dont have a fucking iphone. I have to update itunes twice a week. Fuck!

astrotrain: aw slag there goes the DRM neighborhood again….time to look for the update to QTFairUse and free the music.

alricsca: You know what makes this doubly scummy. The RIAA won a ruling that said they did not have to pay artist for ring tones because they were not derivative works yet here they are pushing Apple to prevent users from making their own ring tones. Woe to Apple for getting in bed with AT&T. I wonder if they remembered to wear a condom. You really do not want to catch what their having.

Leave a Reply

