Remote Control Your Computer with Your iPhone

mklopezYou could spend hundreds of dollars on a multimedia remote with a touchscreen interface, glorious album art, and all of the fixings, but if you’ve already got an iPhone, you really don’t need to. Today I’ll show you a number of ways you can use the iPhone to remote control everything from iTunes playback to your Windows or Mac desktops.[…] Thanks to mklopez for providing this nice story on Digg.

What other users say about this:

penguincentral: How interesting…

Hey, the only reason that this is popular is because it’s the iPhone. If it was some other crappy phone, then this wouldn’t have even made the front page.

dewar2002: remote buddy does all of this very well, but you have to pay for it after 30 days. waiting for serialz.to to catch up to recent release.
http://www.iospirit.com/remotebuddy/

pruppert: These are awesome. Perfect companion to the wireless Airtunes on Airport Express.

80hd: I think a cool iPhone/Touch feature would be to pick up on shared libraries while your on your home network and let you swap out music automagically. Not that it’d be fun to pick music by hand but if you use smart playlists this could be really cool since new tunes would load up just by coming home.

bloominoctober: Why not just use RDM+ to remotely control your computer?

http://www.rdmplus.com

toetagger: Am I missing something?
http://www.ipresents.co.uk/a/i/stuff/apple-remote.jpg
Oh, yeah- you got a PC.

Grimdotdotdot: “You could spend hundreds of dollars on a multimedia remote with a touchscreen interface, glorious album art, and all of the fixings, but if you’ve already got an iPhone, you really don’t need to.”
… Because you already have.

acnx: you can full remote control your pc wuth Symbian phones too and a small app installed :
http://axtmag.com/2007/09/19/use-your-phone-to-remote-control-your-pc/

stratdog25: Yeah… i remember being able to do this 2 years ago on my Treo650… oh yeah it has a great nintendo emulator on it. can the iphone get 33 lives on contra?

WiseWeasel: Now if only I could control my AppleTV from my iPhone…

jdubsss: I wonder if these people bashing the iPhone’s touchscreen have much experience with other touch screen products. Personally, I have digital touch screen pads all throughout my home, my navigation system in my car is touch screen, and I have remote controls that are touch screen. The iPhone is by FAR the best touch screen I have ever used, and the keyboard is actually quite simple once you’ve played around with it for a week.

pezholio: I’ve been able to do that for ages on my non-iphone. Nice little app called Salling Clicker that connects via Bluetooth. Combined with a radio transmitter I’ve got access to my iTunes library all over the house. Go me!

JohnnyXmas: MISLEADING. It only lets you control very specific actions remotely.

Not to be “that guy,” but WindowsCE had Terminal Services since v 3.0, and WM5 has VNC apps for total PC control.

hugehead83: Not to bash the iPhone, but PPC/smartphone users have been able to do this for over 2 years (see logmein.com). They can also watch their TV tuners (and record video from their phones) all for free. iPhone people need to get over the hype.
Cheers VolnoX.

notjamt9000: For amarok you could use the “Web Control” script, works ok on the Nokia N800 so I imagine it would on an iPhone, although I don’t know about the screen size. Of course the N800 has VNC too so I can also use that.

Leave a Reply

