Analysis: Adobe CS3 may not work with Leopard

obeezyThis story is more interesting for what it doesn’t say than what it does. Adobe CEO Bruce Chizen recently told Reuters that “CS3 hasn’t fully been tested under Leopard” but that “If it doesn’t work, we will make the necessary adjustments.” He also apparently said that Adobe had not received a final copy of Leopard for testing purposes.[…] Thanks to obeezy for providing this nice story on Digg.

What other users say about this:

ForbesBingley: Even if Adobe CS3 isn’t compatible with OS X 10.5, the required changes wouldn’t be anywhere near as major as when Adobe shifted the code base from the Motorola / IBM processor architecture to the Intel platform…

teknishn: Im burying this as inaccurate. First off, CS3 is a 1.0 release of sorts as it was a complete rewrite for universal binary. Second, Leopard is still in beta. There are still many things to sort out with the last build release, but I expect to see release candidates any day. And finally, I am running the latest 527 beta build of Leopard, and so far all my CS3 apps work without issue.

rossnyc: I am 99.100% sure photoshop will be fine by the time leopard is publicly available.

bittermang: If Company A’s $3000 software suite doesn’t work on Company B’s $2000 and up workstation, you’re going to have a lot of angry rich people. Which are the worst kind of angry people.

So I’m saying this is an unlikely situation.

basye: Personally I couldn’t care less about PS (although use it daily); it’s the other Adobe apps which have become essential to my work (AI, ID and DW) which will force me to wait to upgrade until Adobe gets their shit together.

streak: CS3 is such a mess of code, a person would be insane to guarantee it will work with Leopard final. Oh, did I say mess? Of course, I meant mass.

NoOneButMe: As for “He also apparently said that Adobe had not received a final copy of Leopard for testing purposes.” I’d assume its because there is no final build yet

mdowney00: Well I can attest that I haven’t had any issues with the latest beta (9A527). Doesn’t necessarily mean that everything works, but I have had zero problems.
What I find funny is that using apples own iPhoto ’08 to edit photos, when you hit crop the picture disappears and you get a static filled image (think no TV reception) until you click in the box. You would think they would have made the ’08 suite completely compatible with leopard since the programmers work at the same company.

Leave a Reply

