Survey: What do you think of the iPhone 1.1.1 Firmware?

enderiiiWhat do you think of the iPhone 1.1.1 Firmware breaking 3rd party applications?[…] Thanks to enderiii for providing this nice story on Digg.

What other users say about this:

timgollin: only one question: how many customers did Apple make happier by locking out third party apps ?

batmant: where’s the option “I have 1.1.1 AND like third party apps so as long as they’re useful and don’t negatively effect the stability of the phone”.

I’m enjoying top tapping the home button and locked screen controls much more than a lights out game and spring board which made the phone less stable.

prediction: t-mobile customers and other crusaders for unlocking digg this comment into the ground.

AppleMacGenius: I like my 3rd-Party Apps, I’m not mad at Apple. We all knew Apple was not going to support the 3rd-party Apps but we hacked it anyway and now your mad Apple broke it.. come on. I am staying at 1.0.2, but if there is a way then I will update it to 1.1.1. The only thing I want is IM, IRC, and Navizon…. I use this all for work. I think Apple should open it up for 3rd party. Let Apple put their seal of approve on it first but at least offer it. Every other software developer does it, Palm, Microsoft, Symbian and even motorola with their java applets.

mechamat: Is it possible Apple is holding back on opening up the iPhone until after Leopard is launched? It’s is a scaled down version of an operating system which hasn’t been released, to protect certain features I would do the same. I bet you will see an “Appouncement” shortly after Leopard’s October release, just in time for the holiday season.

Moviespo: The kitchen was closed…Here is a solution to going back in time to when you were using 1.0.2

http://iphone.fiveforty.net/wiki/index.php/Downgra …

Let’s do the time warp again…

I worked for me…I don’t need the music store but it was fun and fast but nothing beats the third party apps…

I am back…

Thanks!

ALT1MATE: I just updated to 1.1.1 and lost my AppTapp functions. I thought that the increased receiver and speakerphone volume would be a good trade-off but ITS NOT! The increase in volume is barely noticeable. I would say it is still comparable to a Treo 700. DO NOT UPGRADE!

sjalloul: For all of your who are experiencing the same, unsettling pain and want to make a statement let’s all come together and dish our phones in front of an Apple store! As a small start-up company geared toward delivering application via the iPhone, I am saddened to see this happening and affecting our optimism as a company and our potential user base. I personally feel the only way the Apple and Steve jobs would get the message if we all join together, and set a date to dish our phones at APPLE STORES! I know this might be too much, but it’s the only way then waiting for a workaround or for the future of this device/platform to evolve much to our desire. So please DIGG this UP for the same cause and let’s make a strong stance.

sjalloul: For all of your who are experiencing the same, unsettling pain and want to make a statement let’s all come together and dish our phones in front of an Apple store! As a small start-up company geared toward delivering application via the iPhone, I am saddened to see this happening and affecting our optimism as a company and our potential user base. I personally feel the only way the Apple and Steve jobs would get the message if we all join together, and set a date to dish our phones at APPLE STORES! I know this might be too much, but it’s the only way then waiting for a workaround or for the future of this device/platform to evolve much to our desire. So please DIGG this UP for the same cause and let’s make a strong stance.

demesisx: I am boycotting apple’s products because of this. I was saving to edit my first feature film on a macbook pro, but now, I am going to go elsewhere with my business.

So much for positive PR stunts (Jobs giving money to those who bought the Newton years ago). I see his true colors….and they mainly consist of shades of green.

NeilAdmirari: Wrong market move. Availability of 3rd party apps is a major selling point for an average gadget user. I-don’t-care-what-as-long-it’s-Apple guys had already bought their iPhones. How do you sell next 10M iPhones, while outrunning the upcoming wave of iPhone clones? By letting everyone make iPhone ever better.
It’s PC with any software vs. Mac only with Mac-blessed software all over again, and we know how that one played out. Should have provided SDK and charged a minor license fee from developers. Happiness all around. It’s still not too late.
Customers knew what they were buying. However, Apple should be made aware that they fired yet another shot in their own foot.

echosierratwo: OORAH! thesledman. im with you brother. the bitching is driving me up the $#%^& wall. I had the hack installed but i wanted the iTunesMobile option so I bit the bullet and restored to 1.1.1. I can wait until nullriver updates the app. I will miss some of the very cool apps but i am not going to bitch and moan about it. Jesus, man up people.

iphoneguy2: Our users are feeling the pain! http://www.iphonecanada.net The firmware is hurting Canadians who REALLY want an iPhone

Ndric: Apple fans loves getting it up the arse.

And at the same time, paying a lot of $$$

handler: 1.1.1 will be hacked soon enough, don’t worry.
For all those bitching about this update, why did you update if you knew it would break 3rd party? I know I’m not updating.

londonista: It seems like history is repeating itself. The original Mac was a closed box — it was Gassee that persuaded Jobs to open it up for expansion as I recall. Jobs could pull the same stunt with the iPod as it was a mere appliance. iPhone on the other hand is a fully-fledged computer albeit in a small form factor — which is why so many people want third-party apps. What people probably don’t realise is that Jobs is petrified of security issues — his nighmare scenario would be a security vulnerability that compromises millions of iPhones that are connected to a wireless network. Now of course Java is supposed to run in a sandbox and hopefully prevent such issues — and is supported on a variety of mobile platforms, even old clunkers like Nokia’s S40. But Steve harbours antipathy towards Java — it certainly runs like a dog on my desktop Mac, so it clearly isn’t a priority for him. If Java isn’t an option, Jobs needs to offer the community some kind of SDK that allows people to install third-party apps and minimises vulnerabilities.

Leave a Reply

